Oh My Neck and My Back

Oh and bonus cool points if you know the reference for the title.

 

One of the hardest things to get used to here is the lack of car. I mentioned this in an earlier post, but tonight prompted me to talk a little more about it. This evening the wife had the night off so I was able to go out to get some things by myself. No E. Free and easy. Until I was on my way home. My goal for the evening was to find a particular book. It was for Emmet. It was written by a friend of a friend who actually lives here in Singapore, although we haven’t yet had the occasion to meet. This was the third store I would visit trying to track down a copy. The other two stores were sold out. This store’s computer told them it had five copies but a half an hour of searching by myself and a clerk yielded no book. If they find one they are supposed to call me.

 

Once the bookstore was debacle was over I checked my phone to see the shopping list I had forgotten at home magically appear in my text messages. Thank you wife. Indeed I had asked. I wandered the store. Giant, its aptly named and comparable to a Super Wal-Mart in the sense that one can purchase a flat screen TV, bicycle, suit jacket, Bombay Sapphire, and live seafood in one trip. Sadly none of those particular cool item were on my list. It was actually a fairly short list.

 

  1. clothes hangers

  2. laundry detergent

  3. salad spinner

  4. Arbor Mist (yes my wife is a classy gal, sorry hun)

 

Clothes hangers not a problem. Laundry soap, check, 5 kilogram bag thank you very much it was on sale. Salad spinner, I have been looking for 3 weeks and still can’t find one. Arbor Mist, oh yeah blackberry merlot. Hope it was a good month. Of course since I was in the section I grabbed a bottle of wine for myself. A shiraz/cab blend from Australia. Then on the way out I saw a four pack of small batch root beer, which the little lady loves, so that went in the cart as well.

 

It doesn’t sound like much. Until I got to the checkout and stuffed it all in my backpack for the stroll home. Its about a half of a mile from the shopping center I was at to the train station. Then one quarter mile from the station to my door. Three quarters of a mile. With all that stuff in a backpack. Now I’ve carried more. Between hiking trips in the white mountains, not to mention my time in the Corps there has definitely been larger loads on my back. However I had decent equipment those instances. The backpack I speak of at the moment is and orange, thin strapped, school bag. It is E’s diaper bag since it leaves me hands free. It was never meant to assume this burden. So it was a very long walk tonight. And the sodden oval on my shirt can attest to the effort involved.

 

Add to this the fact that for a good part of each day E likes to ride “daddy horse” when he gets tired. So whatever is in the pack at the moment plus him up on the shoulders is doing great things for my neck and back. I need a better backpack, or one of those old lady travel shopping carts. The bonus is my calves are going to look amazing if it keeps up.

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Oh My Neck and My Back”

  1. scuds20 (Derek) says :

    Oh, I want $150,000, but we can settle out of court right now for twenty bucks…..

    But seriously, I have an old mountain ruck, WITH the frame… The same one that went to Iraq with us, coicidently, if you need it… Plus I’m a hop, skip, and a jump away from Saigon Sam’s! Just let me know!

    Like

Leave a Reply

